10. The Unfolding

Grab a piece of paper and title it “My Unfolding” and write down in order of occurrence, some of the most pivotal moments of your life, good and bad. For ex.- adopting a child, your first job, graduating college, your first broken heart, marriage, birth, death, moving, friendships…

Look over it and take a deep breath and say “it all counts.” Wherever you are in your faith and relationship with God, EVERYTHING that has happened to you counts for something. His timing is perfect, ours is not. It’s your choice whether to view all of those things you wrote down as a stepping stone to your true calling, whether you understand it or see it or not. Faith. Trust that God is good and works everything for your good. Your list is your preparation. The best is yet to come.

May 14, 2014

My Unfolding:

  • Adoption
  • Becoming a nurse
  • Minnesota
  • Travel nursing, Jobs, Friendships through my travels
  • Meeting my birth parents
  • Mary Kay, Leadership track
  • Relationship with Damien
  • Baltimore
  • Phoenix 2014
  • …………………

So badly did I yearn to know the rest. Will I get into CRNA school? Will my relationship last? Will I be happy? Where will I live if I don’t get into school, what will I do? Can I really continue being an ER nurse?

TRUST.

God knows every piece of our unfolding and until then my only job is to continue building my faith and relationship with Him and live the moments with a grateful heart, rising above my circumstances. Staying the course.

Are you truly making your days count amid struggle and the unknown?

Journal entry, May 23, 2014:

I think a lot of us have dreams to help people, that’s why we’ve chosen the jobs or careers we do. To make a difference. Then we get in these jobs, green, excited, naive and somewhere down the line something changes and somehow we become the very people we despised when we started because they just complained. We allow negativity to seep in, we may become uncomfortable, we get lost. Question is: How do we respond? What kind of person do we want to be? Can we still have and create the ‘make a difference’ life we always wanted and pay the bills? 

We may even try something different and change lives in a better way. But more often than not, we always end up in the same pit. Not happy, fed up, complainers who may just settle for an unfulfilled life journey. But I choose to find Jesus and ask Him what He saw and intended for my life rather than focus on me, me, me and what I wanted.”

And then the words of Jesus poured from my pen: “Patience child. I’ll prepare you but you must slow down. Enjoy your moments, look for treasures, share blessings, do good, be my friend, live in peace, and walk blindly yet full of strong enduring faith. For my dreams for you are bigger and stronger than anything you could ever imagine for yourself. Follow me. Trust me. For I love you. You are valuable and precious to me. Allow me to work through you all the seconds of your life to produce an abundance of fruit for me.”

Below is another great message paraphrased from Anna Quindler, a journalist, who gave this speech to college graduates,

“Get a life. Not a manic pursuit of the next promotion, a bigger paycheck or a larger house. Get a life in which you are generous. Work hard on crafting your spirit and character more than crafting your resume. What you are, will always be more important than what you do.

Everyone wants to do well but if you don’t do good, doing well will never be enough.”

Lord,

Thank you for your message today and all days. I relinquish all control to you. I’m in the dark and the only way out is following your light. Thank you for the opportunities to always seek you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

